The Drive Thru Bride

Can you imagine getting ready for your wedding in just three minutes? I would frantically throw some blush on my cheeks; apply a fresh amount of lip gloss, and panic over what to do with this hair. I’d race to find a beautiful white dress, and search for dazzling jewels to put around my neck.  

Try as I may, I’d probably come down the aisle looking like I just went through a carwash. My hair didn’t have time to dry after a one minute shower. I didn’t have time to apply all of my makeup, and I only have on one shoe. At least my flowers are fresh- since I just picked them out of the church’s flowerbed!

This may seem silly because nobody gets ready for their wedding in three minutes. You can’t even make it to a drive thru wedding chapel that fast. A bride prepares over a period of time. She takes joy in adorning herself for her groom. Nothing is allowed to hinder her beauty. She veils herself in purity as she prepares to walk down the isle. And she is truly lovely. 

 Like any woman- the bride in Revelation 19:7-8 has “made herself ready.” She does not wait until she is standing in the presence of her bridegroom to try to prepare herself. She does not appear before him embarrassed with wet hair and jeans. Rather, “it was granted her to clothe herself with fine linen, bright and pure.”  This fine linen is “the righteous deeds of the saints.” Her dress is beautiful because Christ gave her “a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair” (Isa. 61:3).

The bride’s face is gorgeous behind her veil for Jesus already took her grief and bestowed on her “a crown of beauty instead of ashes” (Isa. 61:3). She is richly adorned with jewels for the Lord has been near to her broken heart and has saved her when she was crushed in spirit (Ps. 34:18).

The bride’s eyes truly sparkly, for her “eyes are ever toward the Lord” (Ps. 25:15), and she has turned away from evil in order to do good (Ps.34:14). She smells of sweet perfume and her lips are brightly colored for she has said “Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good!”(Ps. 34:8). She has made her refuge in God, and she is blessed (Ps.34:8).

This bride is ready to meet her groom, because Jesus has already delivered her from the many afflictions that she faced on the earth (Ps. 34: 19). “Let us rejoice and exult and give him the glory, for the marriage of the Lamb has come and his Bride has made herself ready.” (Rev. 19:7). 

My prayer is that the Lord would make me into this ready bride. That I would not appear before Him out of breath covered in my dirty sin, but I would be wearing the righteous deeds that He has worked into my life here on earth. May we behold our Groom as His ready bride.  

 

3 thoughts on “The Drive Thru Bride

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday Pencilled Daydream! | Pencilled Daydream

  2. Wow–I’ve been reading over your favorite past posts and loved them all, but this is so powerful. Thank you for taking time to write. You serve up a good spiritual meal, even if dinner is a bowl of chips!

  3. Pingback: Real Women | Life of a Pint-Sized Mama

Leave a Reply

