Top Ten Reasons I Love Being A Mom: Part 2

I love being a mom because…

6. I was able to carry, deliver, and hold a miracle.

Psalm 139:13 says, “For you formed my inward parts; you knitted my together in my mother’s womb.” What a privilege and a blessing to carry, deliver, and hold a miracle. Life comes from God and He allowed me to carry my sweet son, for that I will always be thankful.

7. Babies make me laugh.

Whether it is the first time they cross their eyes, discover their hands, or make spitting noises in the middle of church, I can’t help to love being a mom. Babies are so funny!

8. I have a whole new category for love.

I never knew I could love someone so much! From the second I knew Elias existed, I loved him. Let’s not even talk about when I saw him for the first time. I loved him so much it almost hurt. I now understand more of how God loves us, because He calls us His children. This is a whole new category, a different kind of love.

9. I get to be someone’s biggest fan.

Only a mom would cheer for  a baby who discovers his hands or feet. Only a mom would demonstrate the wave five hundred times so a baby can learn to wave.  I love being a mom because I get to be Elias’ biggest fan.

10. I get to speak in a high-pitched voice

I love how whenever anybody talks to a baby their voice goes up ten octaves. I am so guilty of this! I don’t know what comes over me. I don’t know if “Minnie Mouse” attacks my voice box or what. For some reason I feel like if I talk in a really high voice maybe he’ll understand what I’m saying better. I need to realize my high-pitched voice is not helping my son learn English. For all I know it is confusing my wide-eyed baby. No wonder it takes some kids a year to mumble even one word. They are trying to translate “Da baby wanna see dada!” into “Does the baby want to see his daddy?” That is hard.

I’d love to hear why you love being a parent, why you want to be a parent, or why you are so thankful you aren’t a parent.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Reasons I Love Being A Mom: Part 2

  1. well…i thought i was the most excited i could be to be a parent one day, but after reading this i am actually much more excited than i thought possible! Ashley, i read all of your blog posts and there isnt one i havent loved yet!

Leave a Reply

