Bring Me Some Figgy Pudding!

I love Christmas! I love that we celebrate Jesus’ birth. I also love the silly things like decorations, the presents, and even the music. The other day I started listening to Christmas music and before I knew it I was singing along with, “We Wish You a Merry Christmas.” By the time I was singing, “Oh, bring me some figgy pudding,” I started to think about the words to this song. I have a few questions for the song writer.

First, what in the world is Figgy Pudding? Do people actually eat this stuff? In my humble opinion figgy pudding sounds really gross. Figs by themselves look like big black bugs, so the thought of adding them to pudding is enough to make me sick. I think we should change this lyric to “Bring me some pumpkin pie” or “Bring me some coffee.” (Preferably a white chocolate mocha since we’re being so demanding).

Second, why is this person demanding figgy pudding? All the singer did was wish somebody a Merry Christmas. Imagine if I did this. I walk over to my neighbor’s house and say, “Merry Christmas! I hope you have a happy New Year.” Before they can say anything, I start demanding some turkey or a glass of eggnog. Then I break out into song,

“I won’t go until I’ve got some,

I won’t go until I’ve got some,

So bring it out here.”

I would love to see the look on their faces. I wonder if they would actually bring me some eggnog. Don’t worry I won’t try this. This is not a good way to make friends.  

Even with the demanding behavior, I won’t lie, I still like this song. I think it is hilarious. Check out the history of  We Wish You A Merry Christmas if you are disturbed by the singer’s demanding behavior.

4 thoughts on “Bring Me Some Figgy Pudding!

  1. haha i just love this! I never thought about this song until u wrote about it 😛 (haha i loved it when u explained it over thanksgiving dinner…i could have died laughing!) Next time i come to your house i’m going to stand outside and demand that u bring me some eggnog 😀

  2. Pingback: The Stranger Side of Carols « The Rainbow Collector's Blog

  3. Pingback: What Is Your Favorite Christmas Song? | Pencilled Daydream

Leave a Reply

