The Honeymoon is Over

The honeymoon is over! The reality of a dirty house has set it, and I’ve decided now that I’ve been married for almost three years,  my house is not allowed to be out of control anymore.

As I was thinking about my house and its current condition (messy), I tried to figure out how it got that way. The answer: I had Elias a few short months after moving into the house. Mark and I  had time to put away our boxes and then all of our attention went to learning how to be parents. I never really had time to figure out how to run a house between feeding the baby and trying to find one hour of peaceful sleep. Our old apartment was easy. Simply pick up the 1 square foot of mess. Our new house is not the same.  So I decided to try something new. I’ve put together a notebook to run my house. Here is the cover.

 

I love to organize, and I like charts. I know this will probably drive some people crazy, but it is how my mind works. So I systematically thought through every room in my house and made a giant list of what needed to be done.  Next I divided up the chores for different days so I don’t feel like I’m cleaning all day everyday. Here is an example of a weekly chart.   

Besides cleaning one of the reason my house is out of control is because I hate cooking. If we have had ramen noodles for three dinners in a row that is enough to make anybody crazy.

 If I was rich the first thing I would do is fire myself and hire a cook. Since that isn’t an option I have asked myself, “Why is making dinner so hard?” The answer is partially due to the fact that I don’t know what to make.

Therefore I have made a menu for all of 2011. I am hoping cooking won’t be so bad if I already know what I’m going to prepare.  I also have weekly shopping lists that go with the menu, so we’ll actually have food in our house. Here is an example page.

 I added inspirational pictures of wives serving their husbands and Scripture verses like Proverbs 31:11-12 which says, “The heart of her husband trusts in her, and he will have no lack of gain. She does him good, and not harm, all the days of her life.” This verse is obviously talking about more than preparing meals, but this is one small way I can do my husband good.

There are five sections to my notebook: Meals, Chores, Marriage and Family, Finances, and Personal Goals. I am hoping that by having a strategy for change, I will learn some new habits that will help my family. I do however know that I am human and that in my own strength I can not be a better wife or mother.

 So instead of a New Year’s Resolution, I am praying Proverbs 31:10-25 and asking God to make these verses a reality in my life. He is the only one who can change me into a better wife and a better mother. Yes, I have come up with strategies to form better habits, but in the end God is going to have to move in my heart so that I can become a true servant to my family.

If you want to join me, I would encourage you to pray through a Scripture that applies to you. God can help us in this new year,  “For the Lord gives wisdom; from his mouth come knowledge and understanding.” Proverbs 2:6

13 thoughts on “The Honeymoon is Over

  1. I LOVE THIS!!!!! I have done something similar before but I LOVE your layouts and how you did!! Thanks for sharing!!!!! Praying the same continued things for me as well!!!

  2. You inspire us all!!! (seriously) 🙂 I know u worked SO long and hard on these and they are really going to pay off! It will be such a ministry to your husband and it will make u feel so happy! (and will really honor the Lord to top things off!) Love u ashle-berries!

  3. Soooo, this was amazing to read:) and now I’m cutting my fb time short to start one of my own:D thank you for the inspiration to better my family by posting this. Love you

  4. This is neat. About the cooking part… I’ve found something that works for us that we are really enjoying. It’s a site called Emealz. You may be familiar with it already… I noticed that they have a menu plan for 2! =)

    Amy

  5. This is so great, what you’ve done, Ashley! I love your heart behind it all!
    I second the e-mealz idea. My husband and I use it and it’s wonderful. After you sign up for the service, you choose which store you get groceries most often from, and you just have to print off the list and the recipes. They tell you, step by step, what to do. It’s great for someone who doesn’t particularly like to cook and wants to have good dinners.
    Just a thought 🙂 Hope your plan works out! I am sure that your husband will appreciate it so much!

Leave a Reply

