My Common Cold

I feel like I get a cold every two days! It all starts when I swallow funny. A  cold will begin to attack me, and my throat suddenly feels scratchy. Of course I spend the next five minutes gulping really hard to see if it actually hurts. And much to my chagrin, my throat is usually sore.

As Mark walks in the room, he probably wonders why I am perched on the edge of the sofa swallowing really hard. When I see him, I want to shout, “Ah… it’s allergies! I just have allergies!” But then I realize he never even accused me of being sick. And besides that I have never struggled with allergies a day in my life, so that would be a bold-faced lie.

Instead of falling prey to the common cold, I usually go about acting like it is a normal day. I eat Chick-Fil-A instead of chicken noodle soup. I drink coffee instead of hot tea. And by the time I go grocery shopping at Wal-Mart, I start feeling guilty because I have probably shared my cold. So here is my public apology for anyone who has ever seen me at Wal-Mart when I was sick. I will try to stay home next time!

Here is my free advice on how to avoid the common cold this winter:

  1. Stay away from sick people. If you see them coming, turn around and run! (Screaming is optional)
  2. Wash your hands regularly. Make it a habit to wash your hands after you have been out of your house.
  3. Avoid touching your eyes, nose, and mouth. This will help you avoid direct contact with germs.
4 thoughts on “My Common Cold

  1. haha love the “if you see them coming, turn around and run! (screaming is optional)” hahaha that is such a good rule of thumb 😛

  2. This is Allie…..anyways, about the cold thing, when you feel it coming on it is good to decrease your sugar intake (easier said then done, I know). sugar depresses the immune system which keeps your body from being able to attack that thing before it gets bad. I personally begin to take Echinacea, even if I just know that a lot of people are sick, it helps your immune system and can be found among the herbs and vitamins at most any store (including walmart)
    You’re so sweet to apologize for going out, ha!

Leave a Reply

