Are You S.A.D.?

I had no idea that I was affected by the different seasons until one day Mark opened all the blinds in our house and suddenly I felt happy. Usually when winter arrives, I feel ready to sing the winter blues and climb in bed. And if I let myself, I could probably stay there until spring. Don’t get me wrong, I do not go into a deep dark depression or anything like that. But as the sun disappears and the snow begins to fall, I find it harder to get up in the morning. I have a hard time concentrating on what needs to get done around the house, and my overall mood changes.

If you are at all like me you may struggle with S.A.D.  (Seasonal Affective Disorder). If you are having trouble waking up in the morning, lacking energy, having trouble concentrating, not wanting to meet with people, and having an overall pessimistic attitude, you may be S.A.D. One in ten people struggle with S.A.D. and Christians are no exception (David Murray).

Here are three things I have found that really help me.

  1. Use your time wisely. As a stay at home mom, I don’t have a set schedule, but I found that getting on one really helps. If I know what I am doing and what I need to accomplish, I don’t have as much time to focus on being S.A.D.
  2. Physically get into the light.
    1. Open the blinds in your house. Part of the reason people struggle with being S.A.D is because their serotonin levels are low. This is caused from lack of sunlight.
    2. Set a bedtime. Part of staying in the light is actually being awake while it is light outside. If you are a night owl like me you may be spending too many “awake” hours in the dark. Try waking up earlier and going to bed earlier.
  3. Spiritually stay in the light. The best advice I can give is to spend time with Jesus. 1 John 1:7 gives us great advice.
    1. Walk in the light, as He is in the light. Spend time with Jesus every day.
    2. Fellowship with one another. If you feel S.A.D go to church, hang out with your Christian friends. Don’t neglect to fellowship together.
    3. Let Jesus be the great counselor, the revealer, and the bringer of truth. Let Jesus cleanse you from all sin. Keep coming back to the Gospel. He is the one who makes all things new.

Are you S.A.D? I’d love to hear about your struggle and anything you have learned from it.

4 thoughts on “Are You S.A.D.?

  1. mrrr i don’t want to be sad :P….actually that is a really good reminder to stay in the light (physically and spiritually) and to exercise, etc. It is crazy how we are physical and spiritual beings. THanks for the reminder to keep up on both! 😀

Leave a Reply

