What Are You Reading?

In the words of Dr. Seuss…

I love reading. Reading stretches both imagination and mind. Books can excite, inform, and create different worlds and experiences. Stories can take me to far away lands, or keep me on familiar soil. Through black printed letters, we are given secrets of past generations. What a gift to see what geniuses penned and left to future generations. What a privilege to gain knowledge through another’s mind.  

This is my bay window that I recently turned into a  reading nook. After a long search, Mark and I found these chocolate-colored chairs that seemed to invite us to take a seat, pick up a book, and stay a while. Inclosing them with vintage embroidered curtains, I can’t help but want to grab some coffee and a book.

I am currently reading Beneath The Night Tree by Nicole Baart. I’m about half way through and so far Baart has told a gripping, and life-like story. She is a gifted and talented writer.  

I am also reading The Narnian by Alan Jacobs. It is so fun to look at C.S. Lewis’ life and get inside the imagination that created Narnia.

Next time it snows and you are trapped in your house for a day, or if it is a  rainy day I challenge you to curl up with a new book. If it is warm and bright and the sun is hanging perfectly in the sky, take a book outside and read for a while. It will be fun–I promise. 

If you want to keep up with what your reading or what you have read, you can go to  Goodreads. On Goodreads you can rate the books you’ve read and review them.

So, what are you reading?

Let me know because I am always looking for new books to read.

8 thoughts on “What Are You Reading?

  1. What am I reading? I’m reading about Freudian concepts, the brain’s anatomy, and how culture affects human development…all the while I have “Jesus Through Middle Eastern Eyes”, a Francine Rivers book, and a John Piper book CALLING out my name from beside my bed. They will have to wait until summer, for my grade point average’s sake.
    P.S. LOVE your reading corner.

  2. Any blog post about books I have to reply to right away! Tonight I just started reading Michael Horton’s The Christian Faith: A Systematic Theology for Pilgrims on the Way and it is phenomenal. It is a little more in-depth and “in-house” than Grudem’s Systematic Theology, but I think it would be helpful for anyone who has had some kind of introductory theological knowledge. I’ll let you borrow it when I’m done. But it might be a while: it weighs in at just a little over 1000 pages.
    On a completely different note, I am also reading To the Golden Shore: The Life of Adoniram Judson by Courtney Anderson. Her writing style is very interesting and at times I think it sometimes gets in the way of the actual story, but overall it is a very inspiring story of the great missionary to Burma, Adoniram Judson. I really am going to make you read this one when I’m done!
    Thanks for the great post, and keep up the great work!
    P.S. Great job on the reading nook! You did such a good job with it I think I’ve spent more time there today than you have!

  3. I just finished Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein. It was really tragic, but told an interesting what-if story of a creator-created relationship. Basically, Victor Frankenstein makes a monster, it wants love, it is ugly so it is rejected by people, it kills all of Frankenstein’s family, then Frankenstein dies trying to find the monster, then the monster decides to kill himself. It was pretty creepy at points, but by the end it’s nothing but a tragedy.

    I just started my next modern classic “The Portrait of a Lady” by Henry James. I found out from the intro that he is known for his “convoluted prose,” so this may be a tricky read! So far it is only an introduction to the polished English life of the main characters.

    Love your reading, nook, Ash! Thanks for this post – 2011 is hopefully going to be a “reading year” for me!

  4. I LOVE your new reading window!! I was so excited when you told me about it, but it is even so much cuter than what I pictured!! haha and you have already read all the books I am reading right now :)…but I’ll let you know if i start reading a new one! LOVE U!

Leave a Reply

