Date Night 101

They told me it would be the end of the world as I knew it. Nearly sending my right eye into a full on twitch, I couldn’t help but believe them. After all they were the ones with experience. They were the ones who actually had kids. They were parents.

I heard things like, “Sleep now… while you can!” This was usually followed by an evil chuckle. Once they recovered from their vicious laugh they told me to enjoy my last few months of freedom and to go and do the things I enjoyed because it is all about to end. Life as I knew it would be over. At the end of nine months, a bundle of joy would be placed in my arms and would take over my whole world… or so they said.

Among the various “dooms day is approaching” instructions that I received, I found a great piece of advice. A friend told Mark and I to set up a date night. They told us to set aside a consistent day of the week and be together. As Gary Thomas says, “a good marriage is not something you find, it’s something you work for” (Sacred Marriage 133).

Mark and I just so happened to start this new “date night” tradition when Elias was three weeks old. We’ve been doing it ever since and have had a blast each week getting to reconnect, talk, and laugh our heads off.

Because I’ve found Date Night to be so fun, I’m going to start giving you date night ideas. This will be a new feature once a month on Pencilled Daydream.

Idea #1 – Put together a family photo project.

A few weeks ago, Mark and I decided to do a family photo project on our date night. We are slowly redecorating our living room, and this was a great start. After talking over dinner, we picked out pictures and went shopping for a frame.

I put the pictures together.

Mark with the finished product.

Our family room is starting to look more like a family room thanks to our date night activity.

What are some of your favorite date night activities?

3 thoughts on “Date Night 101

  1. Pingback: October Favorites | Pencilled Daydream

  2. Pingback: Date Night 101: What If It’s Cancelled? | Pencilled Daydream

  3. Pingback: Date Night 101: Questioning Aslan | Pencilled Daydream

Leave a Reply

