What Is Your Favorite Christmas Song?

I love Christmas music! I love it so much I have to tell myself not to listen to it in the summer so it will be special in December. Some of the songs are such beautiful worship songs, and others are just fun. Now with as many good songs as there are, I do have a few questions about some of the favorites.

In We Wish You A Merry Christmas, What in the world is figgy pudding? And why is the person demanding figgy pudding? All he did was wish someone a Merry Christmas. Not good manners if you ask me.

In It’s The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year, is the author having flashbacks to Halloween when he talks about ghost stories? What do ghosts have to do with Christmas? And I would like to know who is telling ghost stories at Christmas time?

I’ve spent the last  few minutes thinking about this, and I’ve decided to give him the benefit of the doubt. Maybe he is talking about Charles Dickens’  A Christmas Carol and the three ghosts Scrooge encountered. I still don’t think they were very scary, but oh well!

I’ll comment on one more idea, even though I could go crazy thinking about these songs. As a mother of a newborn, I am up at night so that Owen can eat. My guess is baby Jesus was up at night when he was a baby because he was 100% man as well as 100% God. 100% of men cry. Just a little observation. With this in mind, I bet that Mary and baby Jesus didn’t “sleep in heavenly peace.” When Mary was up at 3a.m. she was probably singing, “No crying he makes…” and then was laughing her head off because he was still crying.

With all of these fun Christmas songs, I think one of my very favorites is Oh Come Oh Come Immanuel. 

It’s your turn: What is your favorite Christmas song?

3 thoughts on “What Is Your Favorite Christmas Song?

  1. My favorite Christmas song is “O Holy Night”. But I also really love “All I Want for Christmas is you” by Mariah Carey because it is such a happy song. There is also “Burrito Sabanero” that is a cuban childrens song and it just reminds me of being young. That being said, I only like Christmas music on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.

  2. Pingback: December Favorites | Pencilled Daydream

Leave a Reply

