Persevere: No Maternity Leave For Me

I’ve decided being a stay-at-home wife could be a full time job. I could spend weeks just organizing my closet. I could probably spend days just trying to find homes for all of my shoes. Let’s not even talk about it I tried to keep the pantry and fridge in perfect order.

I could literally spend my whole life trying to keep my house looking perfect. So what happens when I add children to this already full time job? For me, the goal changes. My goal is simple. Keep the children alive. Side note: I think it is a miracle that any child survives. I can’t tell you how many times Elias has nearly killed himself by bouncing off the couch head first or by face planting into a coffee table. It breaks my heart when he does this, but he has proven to be very resilient, and he is still breathing!

Between keeping the kids alive, feeding a baby every three hours, doing laundry, changing diapers, and tackling dishes there isn’t a whole lot of free time in my day.

My question for today is:

How do you keep your heart alive and in love with Jesus amidst the business? I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments. Because I  can’t take a maternity leave from God, I have had to find new ways to be in His word when time is limited. Here are a few things that have helped me..

  1. Listen to the Bible. You can listen to the Bible here.
  2. Listen to sermons. You can listen to great sermons here or here.
  3. Listen to books on tape.
  4. Listen to worship music.
  5. Read a short devotional like Daily Light by Anne Graham Lotz.
  6. Memorize Scripture. I am currently memorizing in James.

While these things should not replace Bible study, they are still incredibly helpful. When I fill my mind with truth my day goes better. When I hear the Word of God my heart perseveres.

I love Jude’s call to press on. He says, “But you, beloved, building yourself up in your most holy faith and praying in the Holy Spirit, keep yourselves in the love of God, waiting for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ that leads to eternal life” (Jude 22).

Jude’s call to persevere is clear. And ultimately God is the one who helps us. He keeps us from stumbling.  And He will present us before the presence of His glory with great joy (Jude 24).

God will do His part, now let’s obey God’s word and do our part in persevering.

5 thoughts on “Persevere: No Maternity Leave For Me

  1. It’s not always easy but I like to read while I nurse…it’s a nice little quiet time for me! And I usually read out loud so Malachi (who is never far!) Can hear too even if he doesn’t understand it and Ava likes listening to anybody talking!!

  2. Pingback: January Favorites | Pencilled Daydream

Leave a Reply

