February’s Sweet Treat: Homemade Apple Pie

For this months sweet treat, I want to share my favorite dessert recipe- homemade apple pie. My mother-in-law Sara makes the best apple pie I have ever tasted, and she was sweet enough to teach me how to make it. I am in love with this recipe. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

February Sweet Treat: Homemade Apple Pie

Plain pastry—enough for a two-crust pie

  • Sift into a mixing bowl
    • 1 ¾ cup all-purpose flour (2 C pastry flour)
    • 1 tsp. salt
  • Cut in with a pastry blender until the mixture is in pea-size bits
    • 2/3 C vegetable shortening (Smart Balance Butter Blend sticks or I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter works well.  Don’t use real butter for more than half—the crust gets really tough.)
  • Sprinkle over flour a little at a time, stirring with a fork until just enough has been added so you can pat the dough into a ball.  Handle the dough as little as possible, and do not knead it.
    • Ice water ( usually less than ½ cup, but go by the feel of the dough)
  • Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and put it in the refrigerator until the apples are prepared.

Apple filling

  • Peel, core, and slice
    • 6-8 apples (Braeburn apples work well, but I use whatever I have on hand and I’ve always ended up with a tasty apple pie)

  • Mix and sprinkle over the apples
    • ½ – ¾ cup brown or white sugar ( I use brown)—use more for tart apples like Granny Smith, less for sweet apples like Delicious
    • ¼ tsp salt
    • ½ tsp cinnamon
    • ¼ tsp nutmeg
    • 1 Tbsp flour
  • Cut up and dot apples with
    • 1 Tbsp butter (or spread)

Putting it together

  • Dust the pastry cloth with flour, spreading it around with your hand until it’s lightly covered.  Roll the rolling pin in the flour also (using a rolling pin sock if you have one)
  • Pull off half the pie crust dough, roll it lightly into a ball, flatten it lightly with one-way strokes of the rolling pin.
  • Starting from the center, roll outward in all directions, occasionally dusting under the dough with flour if it seems to be sticking (with well-chilled dough on a well-seasoned pastry cloth, it won’t stick).  If you have bays and peninsulas in the circle, cut off the peninsulas, turn them floured side up, and press them into the bays to even out the circle.  Press hard to make them stick.
  • Roll until the circle is a little bigger than the top of the pie pan.
  • Fold double and gently lift he circle of pie crust dough into the pie pan.  Lay it out flat, center it, and, leaving a little extending beyond the edges of the pie plate, trim off the excess.

Pile the apples into the pie shell, heaping them in the center if you have enough. Repeat the rolling  part with the rest of the pie crust dough and put it on top of the apples.

  • Trim the dough so it’s a little smaller than the bottom crust.
  • Fold the edge of the bottom crust over the top crust and crimp it with thumb and forefinger all the way around the edge to make a nice fluted edge.
  • Prick the top crust with a fork or paring knife, making a design of your choice or being random.

Baking

  • Preheat the oven to 450 F.
  • Turn the oven to BAKE and put in the pie.
  • After 10 minutes, reduce the heat to 375
  • Bake until the apples are tender and the top is golden brown.  You’ll have to stick your fork or knife through the top crust to see if the apples are tender—aim for the design you already cut if you don’t want your pie to look mutilated.

Eat!  Warm slices will fall apart, but they taste oh-so-good, especially with a dollop of vanilla ice cream on top! Enjoy.

(This apple pie recipe was taken from The Fanny Farmer Cookbook, eleventh edition.)

6 thoughts on “February’s Sweet Treat: Homemade Apple Pie

  1. I’ve only recently gotten into apple pie, I think when I was younger I convinced myself that apples+pie=yuck.. but now I’m in love with it, and this recipe looks absolutely delicious. Next time I get my bake on I’ll consider this recipe!

    • I used to think I didn’t like apple pie too! Then I got pregnant with my first son and started eating any and everything that had apples in it. I happened upon this pie and have been in love ever since. I hope you get a chance to make it. You’ll love it!

  2. Pingback: February Favorites | Pencilled Daydream

Leave a Reply

