I’m No Martha Stewart!

There is an elephant in the room. Instead of ignoring him I’ll just usher him out by telling you that I am no Martha Stewart. My home will never be nominated to be on the cover of  the Better Homes and Gardens magazine.

I’ll just confess that up front. Besides I don’t even have a garden. But I’m sure if I did have a garden it would look amazing. Really it would.

Just picture me out on my hands and knees with a big floppy hat, floral patterned gloves on, and a little shovel in my hand. I would spend hours out there talking to my little flowers, telling them to “grow.” I mean what else would I do out there for hours? After my little flower grew, I could get a professional photographer to come take a picture of it and then I would win the most beautiful home and garden of all eternity award. (Note to self: get a garden. This will solve all of your “beautiful home” problems). Ok…I’m getting carried away. Where was I? Oh, yes beautiful homes.  

To be honest, I consider myself lucky when Cheerios aren’t smashed on the floor and when mount laundry is not declaring war on my home and trying to advance through each room of my house. I am happy when the floors are cleared of toys long enough to vacuum. I am overjoyed when the dishes don’t sneak out of the sink and try to take over the countertops. When everything is in its place, my house feels like a beautiful place. 

In line with that thought, I’ve decided to do a home tour. My heart behind this fun little tour is to serve my family by cleaning and organizing our house one room at a time, and hopefully along the way you’ll feel inspired to clean, organize, and enjoy your home.

HOME TOUR: FAMILY ROOM

Lets start in the Family Room since that is where we spend most of our time.

When we were deciding to buy our house, this is the first room I fell in love with. I love how open it is. It’s perfect for little boys to run around in.

Because this is the family room, I love decorating it with family pictures.  

I love this fireplace in the winter!

I hope you enjoyed this little peek into our home. Stay turned for the rest of our tour!


 

15 thoughts on “I’m No Martha Stewart!

  1. I’m no Martha Stewart either and I specifically moved Mount Laundry out of the living room before I took pictures for my blog post! Now it’s taking over our bed 🙂

  2. What a gorgeous living room space!
    I love how you use color and patterns to make the space so welcoming.
    My favorites are the wall paint color, built-in bookcases and the green and white chair.
    I’m having such fun visiting the SUYL participants this week! So many talented bloggers.
    Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. My little boys would LOVE such an open room to play in, too! I’m lucky when I don’t find Cheerios under my feet and dishes on my counters, too. You are totally speaking my language. I also love using our family pictures to decorate.

    Such a fun link-up!

  4. The room looks so great and very spacious!! So nice!! We are so glad you joined our “Strut Your Stuff Saturday”. We love to see all of the great recipes and ideas!! Thanks and we hope to see you again next week! -The Sisters

  5. I love your open roomy space. We have absolutely no room to run around in. Visiting from Kelly’s Korner and checking out all the wonderful living rooms. I would love it if you could come visit my blog when you get a chance. I host a Weekend Blog Walk and would love to have you join in the fun… great group of bloggers.

    You’ve got a beautiful family! 🙂

  6. Pingback: I’m No Cake-Boss! | Pencilled Daydream

  7. Pingback: Home Tour: Our Bedroom | Pencilled Daydream

  8. Pingback: Home Tour: Our Bedroom |

  9. I just want to say I’m new to blogs and actually liked you’re blog site. Likely I’m going to bookmark your blog . You absolutely come with good stories. Cheers for sharing with us your blog.

Leave a Reply

